Swiss Cheese Fondue

I just purchased my first fondue pot and I’m more than a little excited about the possibilities. The immediate excuse was wanting to make chocolate fondue for the friends we had over Friday night, (which did not turn out, sadly, so more research needed there), but my heart rejoices at the thought of the many lobster tails I’ll be dipping in simmering broth over the years. Adam has requested traditional cheese, however, as our inaugural entree, so here it is.

This is the cheese fondue I grew up eating. I don’t know where Mom got the recipe originally, but I have fond memories of the whole lot of us bent over one pot, eight forks vying for prominence. Mom usually gave us multigrain bread as the dipping agent, but due to ideas born courtesy of Blue Hour in Portland, I like to use green apples, blanched asparagus, and small steamed yukon potatoes as well.

1 clove garlic
¾ cup dry white wine
4 cups (1 lb.) shredded natural Swiss cheese
2 Tblsp flour
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
¼ tsp salt
Dash pepper
1 – 2 Tblsp Kirsch, if desired (I’ve never used this)
1 loaf French bread

Rub inside of saucepan or fondue dish with cut clove of garlic. Add wine and heat until bubbly. Combine cheese, flour, nutmeg, salt and pepper. Add about ¼ cup of cheese mixture to wine; stir vigorously. Continue adding cheese in small amounts and stirring until all the cheese is melted and mixture is thoroughly blended. Stir in Kirsch, if using. Keep hot while serving with bite-sized pieces of bread to dip into fondue.

Leave a Reply

