Chickpeas and Spinach with Garlic and Turmeric

I lifted this straight off Shauna’s blog, as I love the feeling she paints here – and I feel the same about chickpeas et al at any rate. Original post is here:

http://glutenfreegirl.blogspot.com/2005/10/turning-mad-for-turmeric.html

“Based on a Spanish tapas dish my vegan friend Daniel has made for me a dozen times, this dish arose spontaneously one afternoon last week. I heated the skillet to nearly-smoking high. A little Spanish olive oil. And then a handful of chickpeas. Sea salt. Garlic, and lots of it, minced finely. Cumin seeds, enough to fill the palm of my hand, which I opened and let them rain down upon the browning chickpeas. And enough turmeric to stain my hands that faded saffron color.

I threw in the spinach and stirred it all madly until the spinach wilted. And ate it, with gusto, watching the blustery afternoon outside my window. My new autumn comfort food.”

Leave a Reply

